Monday, April 17, 2017

John Denver - Beginnings as a Folksinger (1969)

John Denver
"The Complete Collection: Beginnings as a Folksinger"
Compilation of Live Recordings from 1969

Lineage: Soundboard > Cassette Tapes > WAV > Speed Correction > Track Edits > WAV > SBE Fix > TLH > FLAC Level 8

Disc 1
01. Introduction
02. For Baby (John Denver)
03. It's a Sin to Tell a Lie (Billy Mayhew)
04. The New Frankie and Johnny Song (Bob Gibson; Shel Silverstein)
05. Deal With the Ladies (John Denver)
06. My God, I Appreciate Your Bod (Michael Peter Smith)
07. All the While (Myles Rudge; Ted Dicks)
08. Blackbird (Paul McCartney)
09. Yesterday (Paul McCartney)
10. Catch Another Butterfly (Mike Williams)
11. Rhymes and Reasons (John Denver)
12. Two Little Boys (Theodore F. Morse; Edward Madden)
13. Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream (Ed McCurdy)
14. Today (Randy Sparks)
15. Both Sides Now (Joni Mitchell)
16. Mr. Bojangles (Jerry Jeff Walker)
17. Wherefore and Why (Gordon Lightfoot)
18. California Dreamin' (John Phillips; Michelle Phillips)
19. Cindy's Cryin' (Tom Paxton)
20. San Francisco Bay Blues (Jesse Fuller)
21. For Lovin' Me (Gordon Lightfoot)
22. Games People Play (Joe South)
23. That's the Way It's Gonna Be (Bob Gibson; Phil Ochs)

Disc 2
01. Introduction
02. The Bells of Rhymney (Pete Seeger; Idris Davies)
03. The Weight (Robbie Robertson)
04. Everybody's Talkin' (Fred Neil)
05. Saturday Night in Toledo, Ohio (Randy Sparks)
06. Bottle of Wine (Tom Paxton)
07. When I'm 64 (Paul McCartney)
08. In My Life (John Lennon)
09. Reason to Believe (Tim Hardin)
10. Circus (Michael Johnson; Laurie Kuehn; John Denver)
11. Daydream (John Denver)
12. Sticky Summer Weather (John Denver)
13. John's Thoughts on Bob Gibson
14. Civil War Suite (Shel Silverstein; Bob Gibson; Hamilton Camp; Irving Gordon)
15. Business Goes on as Usual (Fred Hellerman; Fran Minkoff)
16. What a Friend We Have in Congress (Traditional; Pete Seeger)
17. Abraham, Martin and John (Dick Holler)
18. What's That I Hear? (Phil Ochs)
19. Farewell Party (Bob Gibson; Bob Connelly)
20. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free (Billy Taylor; Dick Dallas)

Disc 3
01. Introduction
02. Ann (Billy Edd Wheeler)
03. Marcie (Joni Mitchell)
04. Suzanne (Leonard Cohen)
05. Darcy Farrow (Tom Campbell; Steve Gillette)
06. Eleanor Rigby (Paul McCartney)
07. Lady Madonna (Paul McCartney)
08. Bookends (Paul Simon) > John's Thoughts on Old Folks
09. Old Folks (Jacques Brel; Eric Blau; Mort Shuman)
10. Amsterdam (Jacques Brel; Mort Shuman)
11. You Done Stomped on My Heart (Mason Williams)
12. The Game Is Over (Pierre Bourtayre; Jean Bouchety; John Denver)
13. Yellow Cat (Steven Fromholz)
14. The Last Thing on My Mind (Tom Paxton)
15. John's Thoughts on Tom Paxton
16. Leaving on a Jet Plane (John Denver)
17. Today Is the First Day of the Rest of My Life (Pat Garvey; Victoria Garvey)

John Denver - acoustic guitar, vocals
Erich Zwertschek - dobro, harmony vocals on "You Done Stomped on My Heart"
John Marlowe - acoustic guitar, harmony vocals on "You Done Stomped on My Heart"
The Queen City Balladeers - background vocals on "Today" and "I Appreciate Your Bod"

This is a "complete" collection of John Denver's days as a folksinger. It's a 60-song compilation of the three following concerts:

1969-03-15 - The Bandersnatch Coffeehouse, Granville, OH
1969-05-09 - The Nowhere Coffeehouse, Cincinnati, OH
1969-05-10 - The Wise Owl Coffeehouse, Cincinnati, OH

Mp3 [V0] - HERE!

1 comment: